Author Topic: Newbie Question - Wood for Plug Building  (Read 6861 times)

yakster

Newbie Question - Wood for Plug Building
« on: February 10, 2010, 02:06:42 PM »
Hello, forum newbie here and sort of new to plug building. That is, I built about 5 or 6 plugs to test for swimming action, weight, castability. Now that I am happy with those aspects (I actually caught a few jersey shore blues on them) I want to build a bunch of plugs for myself.

I have a question about the wood used to make plugs..... I'm ready to take a beating on this but here goes anyway......

I have some leftover 2x2 furring strip from my local mega-mart hardware store. Its probably doug fir. I know that folks don't use this type of wood for plug building but I don't know why. Is it the fact that it is too soft and will absorb water even after sealing?

What would be the best plugmaking wood available to a guy in NJ?

Thanks,
Yakster from the jersey shore

Offline Out Fishing

• Build rods,plugs,flys and love to fish mostly surf
Re: Newbie Question - Wood for Plug Building
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2010, 02:49:34 PM »
YO! yakster.....we aint gona beat u up.....u from jersey  ? im from jersey.......u have a good question........well i do cedar, and 1.1/2"  round  bulasters from a lumber yard in pine  and when my plug is all drilled out... i like to soak them in sanding sealer for some time till the air bubbles are gone and the wood sucked up the sealer  and let them dry good.........i dont use hardwoods  lets wait to hear from the rest of the crew.......anyway  what shore in jersey......i fish IBSP, LBI, Brielle, pt pleasant & spring lake.......but i mostly fish IBSP. and betty&nicks is my tackle shop ...last season i hooked up with a bunch of guys from berkly striper club great bunch of guys........i met them on a tagging torny......my favrorite plugs are saltys 2.5 oz blabber mouth popper and that jitterbug looking thing......those are the plugs of choice for 2010
Born to fish forced to work