Author Topic: belly weight  (Read 4681 times)

Offline Out Fishing

belly weight
« on: February 06, 2011, 08:50:15 PM »
Hi: I have never done this before but I need some information involving belly weights.  I am a muskie fisherman that was brought up fishing (trolling) wooden pikies.  Since they or not easily obtainable, I purchased a few A40jr and altered the face to look like the old style 2 screw wood pikie.  The question I have is ...How important is the belly weight.  Is it for casting or to obtain proper swimming action?

Offline Out Fishing

• Doesn't really fish
Re: belly weight
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2011, 09:02:36 PM »
belly weights effect the swimming action. I find most wood plugs cast like a potato with or without belly weights, ones with cast further tho.
now tail weights, that a different story

Offline Out Fishing

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2011, 10:28:37 PM »
Well the truth is I have sealed and painted 25 bodies that I did not insert a belly weight, but rather doweled the hole.  After installing the lip, hooks, and wire.....When I finally found some open water to test them (try that in Michigan in February), the bodies tended to roll with the largest after market pikie lip.  I noticed that if I replaced the lip with original large pikie lips they tent to swim better, but the depth they obtained was less.  Please help before I make Scott richer in the quest for a supply of custom muskie baits....

Offline Out Fishing

• Admin
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2011, 04:37:06 AM »
You need to read the pictorials on the site linked off the kit page. Your in never never land right now. With the qty of different plug kits there not sure why you'd go to all that work and not just select the correct kit to begin with :)
Better to have a short life that is full of what you like doing than a long life spent in a miserable way....Alan Watts

Offline Out Fishing

• Admin
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2011, 04:37:35 AM »