Author Topic: Daly's ship and shore sealer?  (Read 3602 times)

Offline Out Fishing

Daly's ship and shore sealer?
« on: January 08, 2012, 01:28:37 PM »
Hello everyone! I am new to plug building and I am looking for a good sealer for my plugs that wont try to kill me like the minwax or is something I can find that wont cost an arm and a leg. The only sealcoat i could find was almost 100km away and $65 a gallon. I would like to start small and if it works good for me and I can impress the banker (wife :D) with my lure building skills then my budget will expand and the world will be my oyster. So anyway I found this stuff at the store called Daly's ship and shore sealer and it sounds like it'll be good (and less than $20)but I thought I would run it past you gentlemen and get your 2 cents if you've heard of it. Other than that it'll have to be BLO mix or something similar unless there are and good suggestions.Thanks in advance for your time and help, Bob

Offline Out Fishing

• Admin
Re: Daly's ship and shore sealer?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2012, 01:39:42 PM »
Not ever heard of it so can't comment on how it will work. Do not recommend the linseed oil mix it's not the best of sealers.

Waterlox is a good sealer, it's tung oil base as is Minwax sanding sealer which you can get at hd etc. Both is better.

Make sure you have good adhesion in between steps.
Better to have a short life that is full of what you like doing than a long life spent in a miserable way....Alan Watts

Offline Out Fishing

• Build rods,plugs,flys and love to fish mostly surf
Re: Daly's ship and shore sealer?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2012, 06:56:16 PM »