Author Topic: Help me epoxy is a MESS!  (Read 7861 times)

Offline Out Fishing

Help me epoxy is a MESS!
« on: July 14, 2011, 09:48:26 PM »
Hey all,

I am a beginner with the whole lure making and I have just bought all the supplies and wood blocks from yours truly. I am having a tough time with my epoxy. I am using Parks super glaze (2 part epoxy). Do you guys dip your plugs in epoxy or brush on? Also how do you keep the holes clear of epoxy? IF any of you could give me a step by step or even post a video on how you do your epoxy that would be amazing. Right now I have a lure that I hand carved from a dowel turning on an automatic watch winder that I took from my dad  ;D Salty, when using devcon 2 part epoxy how do you apply it on so you get that clean look to your lures?

Thanks a ton, Scott

Offline Out Fishing

• Admin
Re: Help me epoxy is a MESS!
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2011, 05:19:06 AM »
ok make sure if your using createx paints that you heat seal them, 1/2 hour at 110 degrees is all you need I believe.

Thin your epoxy very slightly with a bit of denatured alcohol or some acetone. Take a acid brush (I sell a different brush on the site that is great for doing this because they have glued and crimped hairs which keep the hairs on the brush not your plug), cut the bristles down in 1/2 with a pair of scissors. use the acid brush to "draw" the epoxy across the lure. Alternatively you can do this with a finger and "smear" the epoxy on (wear gloves) in a very thin coat. Do not coat thick. Keep the epoxy flat if you can...don't let it sit in a cup or it will cure REAL quick. I think alot of guys use a piece of tin foil made into a little saucer to keep the epoxy flat.

Flip end to end several times while it cures. Keep your coating THIN so not to add weight to the lure.
Better to have a short life that is full of what you like doing than a long life spent in a miserable way....Alan Watts

Offline Out Fishing

• Admin
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2011, 05:19:54 AM »