Author Topic: Questions from a Beginner  (Read 3554 times)

Borsuk

Questions from a Beginner
« on: September 20, 2011, 12:06:33 PM »
I've been making my own stuff for a few years, but nothing too serious.  I've made all sorts of flies, but just recently gotten into the plug making.  Here are some general questions.

I noticed that the belly grommets don't fit into the holes I drill with my standard sized drill sets.  (They drill sets are either just a TINY bit too tight, or they are way too big.)  What size drill bit should I buy to fit the belly grommet.  *Note:  This is the inner diameter - not the outer diameter (Which is generally just counter sunk)

My plugs are generally 'Just ok'.  From time to time I find an old fly from my beginner days of doing that and laugh at them.  I'm pretty sure that I'll feel the same way about these plugs...  So - I've been using Glossy Spray paint for my "Clear coat" to save on epoxy costs.  Any thoughts on this?  While it's not perfect, is there a way to make it better?

Sealing?  What is the safest (Least toxic to me) thing to use?  I'm not especially worried about fire, rags, etc as I have a place to dispose of them safely, but as I'm mostly working in my garage - I do not have the ventilation to use insanely toxic sealers.  What's the best option for someone who wants non-toxic AND only makes 1-2 plugs at a time.

I've been using very cheap Acrilic paint from AC Moore or Michaels.  It's like 33 cents per bottle.  I also have some createx - I'm using one of two (Also really cheap) air guns.  What's the best way to thin this stuff out.  Is it really just trial and error?  If it exists, I'd like to know a ratio.  50/50...  70/30... etc.  Any help?

Also, anything you might think a beginner needs to know.  (Pictures and videos are best very helpful)

Thanks in advance,

Offline Out Fishing

• Build rods,plugs,flys and love to fish mostly surf
Re: Questions from a Beginner
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2011, 06:05:29 PM »